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Addressing Sexual Harassment

in the Workplace

BY SUZANNE HULTIN

The recent wave of sexual harassment allegations
against media, sports moguls, politicians and people
of power over the past year has prompted many
state legislatures to address how they are protect-
ing their state’s workers. According to the U.S. Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), “un-
welcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors,
and other verbal or physical harassment of a sexual
nature constitute sexual harassment.” Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964 recognizes sexual harass-
ment as a form of sex discrimination and applies to
private employers with 15 or more employees, as
well as government and labor organizations.

Sexual harassment can occur in a variety of ways,
according to the EEOC:

e The victim, as well as the harasser, may be a
woman or a man. The victim does not have to
be of the opposite sex from the harasser.

¢ The harasser may be the victim's supervi-
sor, an agent of the employer, a supervisor in
another area, a co-worker or a nonemployee,
such as a vendor or customer.

e The victim does not have to be the person
harassed but could be anyone affected by the
offensive conduct.

¢  Unlawful sexual harassment may occur
without economic injury to or discharge of the
victim.

e The harasser’s conduct must be unwelcome.

The #MeToo and #TimesUp movements have
demonstrated the prevalence of sexual harassment
in all types of industries, including high-profile
ones such as entertainment and government. While
the extent of sexual harassment across trades is
still being revealed, research has found certain
occupations where sexual harassment is even more
commonplace: among those in low-paying jobs.

Did You Know?

e Nearly 7,000
charges alleging
sexual harassment
were filed with the
Equal Employment

Opportunity
Commission in FY 2017.

¢ Low-wage workers,
particularly those in
the accommodations
and restaurant
industries, are more
likely to report sexual
harassment claims.

e Connecticut, Maine,
Massachusetts,
Rhode Island and
Vermont are the only
states that require or
strongly encourage
employers to provide
sexual harassment
training.

Additional
Resources

* NCSL LegisBrief,
Sexual Harassment

Policies and Training
in State Legislatures

* NCSL webpage,
Sexual Harassment
Resources

e U.S. Equal
Employment

Opportunity
Commission
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Many states are considering prohibiting nondisclosure agreements as they

pertain to sexual harassment claims. Nondisclosure agreements are designed to

keep proprietary information secret; however, they have also been used to keep

settlements of harassment undisclosed.

A survey conducted by Hart Research Associ-
ates found that 40 percent of women in the fast
food industry have experienced unwanted sexual
behaviors on the job.

Further research on the topic suggests that workers
in tipped professions, where earnings can depend
on happy customers, create environments that toler-
ate sexual harassment and discourage workers from
reporting unwelcomed behavior from customers
and colleagues. EEOC data on sexual harassment
claims show that almost 37 percent of all sexual ha-
rassment charges filed with the agency come from
the accommodations and restaurant industry—the
largest of any industry sector. Retail, manufacturing,
health care and social assistance, and the adminis-
trative and support sector round out the other five
top industries with the most sexual harassment
charges filed with the EEOC.

State Action

Although federal law says it is unlawful to harass

a person because of that person’s sex, many state
legislatures are looking to go beyond federal regu-
lations to prevent workplace sexual harassment. In
2017, California, Illinois, Maine and Oregon passed
legislation aimed at combatting sexual harassment
in the workplace and addressing certain worker
populations.

Maine passed HB 1016, which coordinates and
enforces workforce sexual harassment training re-
quirements and imposes violations for all employers
in the state. Illinois enacted SB 402, which requires
the General Assembly to adopt policies related to
sexual harassment, but also created a Sexual Harass-
ment Hotline for people in the public or private sec-
tor to report sexual harassment and find necessary
resources. The hotline website provides additional
information on reporting, legal assistance and coun-
seling. California’s SB 295 directs sexual harassment
training specific to farm labor contractors and their
employees. Similarly, Oregon’s HB 3279 requires
sexual harassment training for certain employees in
the janitorial sector.

In 2016, California enacted AB 1682, which prohib-

its a confidentiality provision in a civil settlement
agreement as it relates to sexual assault, but does
not specify sexual harassment.

During the 2018 legislative sessions, at least 20
states have introduced legislation on this issue.
Many states are considering prohibiting Non-
disclosure agreements as they pertain to sexual
harassment claims. Nondisclosure agreements are
designed to keep proprietary information secret;
however, they have also been used to keep settle-
ments of harassment undisclosed. Sixteen states
have introduced legislation aimed at limiting or
prohibiting the use of nondisclosure provisions as
they relate to sexual harassment. They are Alaska,
Arizona, California, Florida, Indiana, Kansas,
Maryland, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania,
Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont,
Virginia and Washington. California, Connecticut,
Illinois, Louisiana, New Mexico and New York in-
troduced legislation aimed at providing training for
employers and employees on sexual harassment
legality, policies and remedies.

In March, Washington enacted four bills (SB 5996,
SB 6068, SB 6313 and HB 2759) to address sexual
harassment. Three of the bills pertain to nondis-
closure agreements and employee contracts and
one creates a women’s commission charged with
identifying and developing policies to keep state
employees safe from sexual harassment.
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In April, Arizona enacted HB 2020, banning
nondisclosure agreements as they relate to sexual
harassment criminal proceedings. New York also
banned nondisclosure agreements when it passed
AB 9507 in April.

Federal Action

Congress has also taken interest in the topic.
Among the legislation related to sexual harass-
ment in the workplace that has been introduced
is a bill by U.S. Representative Cheri Bustos (D-111.)
and Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.). The End-
ing Forced Arbitration of Sexual Harassment Act
would make any arbitration agreement void in a
sex discrimination dispute.
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